Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
Classes begin - Monday, August 22, 2016
Labor Day (classes meet) - Monday, September 5, 2016
Last day to file for May/August graduation - Friday, September 30, 2016
Fall break begins after last class (1L and 3L) - Friday, October 7, 2016
Lawyering Skills Workshop (2L) - Friday, October 7, 2016 through Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Classes resume - Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Thanksgiving break begins after classes - Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Classes resume - Monday, November 28, 2016
Fall term examination period - Monday, December 5, 2016 through Friday, December 16, 2016
Fall term ends - Friday, December 16, 2016
Fall diploma date - Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Spring Semester 2017
Registration - Saturday, April 23, 2016 through Sunday, January 8, 2017
Classes begin - Monday, January 9, 2017
Last day to file for December graduation - Friday, February 3, 2017
Spring break begins after classes - Friday, March 3, 2017
Classes resume - Monday, March 13, 2017
Spring term examination period - Monday, April 24, 2017 through Friday, May 5, 2017
Spring term ends - Friday, May 5, 2017
Spring Commencement - Saturday, May 6, 2017
Baccalaureate Service - Sunday, May 7, 2017
University of Richmond Religious Observance Calendar

The University is a secular institution that values a diversity of religious expression. The University is also an active community with a wide range of personal commitments and academic and extracurricular activities.

Planning for academic and extracurricular activities should be done with sensitivity to the diverse religious commitments of the community and an awareness of religious holidays. Scheduling large-scale, one-time academic or extra-curricular events on a religious holiday should be avoided whenever possible.

Any student may be excused from class or other assignments because of religious observance. A student who will miss an academic obligation because of religious observance is responsible for contacting his or her professor within the first two weeks of the semester. The student is responsible for completing missed work in a timely manner.

Faculty are expected to be mindful of potential conflicts with religious observances and should make reasonable accommodations when students' religious practices conflict with their academic responsibilities.

The religious observance calendar is meant to serve as a scheduling guide. It lists significant holidays from the five largest global faith traditions. However, it is not comprehensive and students may choose to observe a holiday not included on the calendar.

The holidays listed are those which occur during the academic year when the University is open.

Buddhist 2016-17
Buddha's Enlightenment Day - Thursday, December 8, 2016
Buddha's Birthday - Saturday, April 8, 2017
Christian 2016-17
Ash Wednesday - Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Good Friday - Friday, April 14, 2017
Easter - Sunday, April 16, 2017
Eastern Orthodox 2016-17
Christmas - Saturday, January 7, 2017
Good Friday - Friday, April 14, 2017
Easter - Sunday, April 16, 2017
Jewish - 2016-17
Rosh Hashanah - Monday, October 3, 2016
Yom Kippur - Wednesday, October 12, 2016
First day of Sukkot - Monday, October 17, 2016
First day of Passover - Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Muslim - 2016-17
Eid al-Fitr - Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Eid al-Adha - Sunday, September 11, 2016
Ashura - Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Hindu 2016-17
Diwali - Sunday, October 30, 2016