Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2022

Classes begin - Monday, August 22, 2022

Labor Day (classes meet) - Monday, September 5, 2022

Last day to file for May/August graduation - Friday, September 30, 2022

Fall Break - Friday, October 7, 2022

Classes Resume - Wednesday, October 12, 2022

Thanksgiving break begins after classes - Tuesday, November 22, 2022

Last Day of Fall Classes - Tuesday, November 22, 2022

Fall term examination period - Monday, December 5, 2022

Fall term ends - Friday, December 16, 2022

Fall diploma date - Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Spring Semester 2022

Classes begin - Monday, January 10, 2022

Last day to file for December graduation - Friday, February 4, 2022

Spring Break - Friday, March 4, 2022

Classes Resume - Monday, March 14, 2022

Last Day of Spring Classes - Friday, April 15, 2022

Spring term examination period - Monday, April 25, 2022

Spring term ends - Friday, May 6, 2022

Spring Commencement - Saturday, May 7, 2022

Baccalaureate Service - Sunday, May 8, 2022


University of Richmond Religious Observance Calendar

The University is a secular institution that values a diversity of religious expression. The University is also an active community with a wide range of personal commitments and academic and extracurricular activities.

Planning for academic and extracurricular activities should be done with sensitivity to the diverse religious commitments of the community and an awareness of religious holidays. Scheduling large-scale, one-time academic or extra-curricular events on a religious holiday should be avoided whenever possible.

Any student may be excused from class or other assignments because of religious observance. A student who will miss an academic obligation because of religious observance is responsible for contacting his or her professor within the first two weeks of the semester. The student is responsible for completing missed work in a timely manner.

Faculty are expected to be mindful of potential conflicts with religious observances and should make reasonable accommodations when students' religious practices conflict with their academic responsibilities.

The religious observance calendar is meant to serve as a scheduling guide. It lists significant holidays from the five largest global faith traditions. However, it is not comprehensive and students may choose to observe a holiday not included on the calendar. 

The holidays listed are those which occur when the University is open.

Buddhist 2022-23

Buddha's Enlightenment Day - Thursday, December 8, 2022

Vesak Day - Friday, May 5, 2023

Christian 2022-23

Ash Wednesday - Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Good Friday - Friday, April 7, 2023

Easter - Sunday, April 9, 2023

Eastern Orthodox 2022-23

Christmas - Saturday, January 7, 2023

Good Friday - Friday, April 14, 2023

Easter - Sunday, April 16, 2023

Jewish - 2022-23

Rosh Hashanah, first two days - Monday, September 26, 2022

Yom Kippur - Wednesday, October 5, 2022

First day of Sukkot - Monday, October 10, 2022

First day of Passover - Thursday, April 6, 2023

Muslim - 2022-23

Eid al-Fitr - Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Eid al-Adha - Sunday, July 10, 2022

Ashura - Monday, August 8, 2022

Ramadan - Thursday, March 23, 2023

Hindu 2022-23

Diwali - Monday, October 24, 2022

Holi - Saturday, March 25, 2023